2014 MMA Awards

With 2014 coming to a close the discussion of the MMA awards is coming about once again. I have decided to join in on all of the fun and give out my own 2014 MMA awards. Feel free to leave your comments to whether you agree or disagree with any of my picks.

Fighter of the Year: Robbie Lawler

Runner up: Donald Cerrone


Female Fighter of the Year: Ronda Rousey

Runner up: Joanna Jedrzejczyk


Prospect of the Year: Kelvin Gastelum

Runner up: Myles Jury


Comeback Fighter of the Year: Dominick Cruz

Runner up: Cat Zingano


Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: TJ Dillashaw

Runner up: Conor McGregor


Fight of the Year: Jose Aldo vs. Chad Mendes II (UFC 179)

Runner up: Johny Hendricks vs. Robbie Lawler I (UFC 181)


Knockout of the Year: Chris Beal vs. Patrick Williams (UFC 172)

Runner up: Dong Hyun Kim vs. John Hathaway (UFC Fight Night 37)


Submission of the Year: Ben Saunders vs. Chris Heatherly (UFC Fight Night 49)

Runner up: Luke Rockhold vs. Tim Boetsch (UFC 172)


Comeback of the Year: Cathal Pendred vs. Mike King (UFC Fight Night 46)

Runner up: Matt Brown vs. Erick Silva (UFC Fight Night 40)


MMA Event of the Year: UFC Fight Night 55: Rockhold vs. Bisping

Runner up: UFC 178


Coach of the Year: Rafael Cordeiro

Runner up: Ray Longo


Team/Gym of the Year: American Top Team

Runner up: Team Alpha Male