2013 MMA Awards

With 2013 coming to a close the discussion of the MMA awards is coming about once again. So I have decided to join in on all of the fun and give out my own 2013 MMA awards. Feel free to leave your comments to whether you agree or disagree with any of my picks.

Fighter of the Year: Demetrious Johnson

Runner up: Vitor Belfort


Female Fighter of the Year: Ronda Rousey

Runner up: Alexis Davis


Prospect of the Year: Conor McGregor

Runner up: Nick Newell


Comeback Fighter of the Year: Robbie Lawler

Runner up: Brendan Schaub


Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Khabib Nurmagomedov

Runner up: John Lineker


Fight of the Year: Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)

Runner up: Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)


Knockout of the Year: Chris Weidman vs. Anderson Silva (UFC 162)

Runner up: Vitor Belfort vs. Dan Henderson (UFC Fight Night 32)


Submission of the Year: Rose Namajunas vs. Kathina Catron (Invicta 5)

Runner up: Anthony Pettis vs. Benson Henderson (UFC 164)


Comeback of the Year: Travis Browne vs. Alistair Overeem (UFC Fight Night 26)

Runner up: Demetrious Johnson vs. John Dodson (UFC On FOX 6)


MMA Event of the Year: UFC 166

Runner up: UFC 168


Coach of the Year: Duane Ludwig

Runner up: Ray Longo


Team/Gym of the Year: Team Alpha Male

Runner up: Blackzillians